NSJCA 2017-18 Rep Season wrap
Date of Event : Wed Apr 25, 2018 6:49AM
NSJCA Players show off their DCA Shields at the SCG

Rep wrap  -  Our most successful representative season to date comes to an end


2017-18 was a remarkable season for NSJCA representative teams, with exceptional results in both the DCA and President Cup competitions.  We are now the proud holders of both the Shell Shield (for the best overall DCA performance) and the President Cup (for the best overall PC performance).  It is the first time the NSJCA has held both awards for the same season.





Congratulations to all players, coaches, managers and support crew.


DCA presentations

The DCA season formally concluded on Wednesday 28 March 2018 with the DCA awards and Shield presentations at the SCG.  There was a sea of blue and maroon at the presentation, with NSJCA taking out nearly half of the competitions. 

The NSJCA were presented with the following Shields:

(It seems like even numbers were lucky for us this year) 

  1. Foster Shield (U10s) to captain  Fraser Pandit   
  2. Cawsey Shield (U12s) to captain Archie Gowthorp
  3. Moore Shield (U14s) to captain Tom Chapman
  4. Watson Shield (U16s) to captain Thomas Elliot   
  5. Shell Shield for being the most successful association

At the presentation, NSJCA players also received the following individual awards:


  1.  Toby Robinson - U10 Foster Shield - Batting Award - 192 runs @ 32.00
  2.  Julian Harrison - U10 Foster Shield - Bowling Award - 12 wkts @ 6.58


  1.  Archie Gowthrop - U12 Cawsey Shield - Bowling Award - 17 wkts @ 8.65
  2.  Archie Gowthrop - U12 Cawsey Shield - Player of the Series - 133 runs @ 26.60, 17 wkts @ 8.65


  1.  Matt Sidhu - U13 Gee Shield - Bowling Award - 14 wkts @ 7.93

Presidents Cup


Our PC teams performed strongly this season, with all teams making the top four and 4 teams competing in the major final. 


The NSJCA were awarded the following PC honours:

  1. Alfred James Cup (U12s) Champions
  2. PC U15s Champions 
  3.  Presidents Cup for being the most successful association


The U15s team has successfully defended their title again, making it three in a row (U13s, U14s and now U15s). 


Well done teams!  


Individual performance of note in the President Cup competitions were:

  1. U13 leading wicket taker Ronan Brennan 16 wickets @ 6.94
  2. U14 leading wicket taker Toby Laybutt 13 wickets @ 8.46


Outstanding individual Rep performances during the season

The NSJCA would also like to take this opportunity to recognise the following Outstanding individual performances which occurred during Rep Season 2017-18:

U13 Girls - Dive Shield - Sarah Chun 52* vs Penrith, 8/10/17

U13 Girls - Dive Shield - Phoebe Overton 4/9 vs Penrith, 8/10/17

U13 Girls - Dive Shield - Leilani Veitch  - 4/7 vs Manly Warringah, 12/11/17

U15 Girls - Peden Shield - Elle Chun 4/39 vs ACT, 8/10/17

U15 Girls - Peden Shield - Sarah Hunter 64 vs Hornsby, 15/10/17

U15 Girls - Peden Shield - Kinja Kumari 61 vs Hornsby, 15/10/17

U15 Girls - Peden Shield - Sarah Hunter 71 vs Camden / Illawarra, 29/10/17

U15 Girls - Peden Shield - Olivia Fanning 83 vs Camden / Illawarra, 29/10/17

U15 Girls - Peden Shield - Elle Chun 4/11 vs Camden / Illawarra, 29/10/17

U13 DCA – Gee Shield - Daimon Pin 105 vs Sutherland, 29/10/17

U14 DCA – Moore Shield - Flynn Farquharson 109 vs Hornsby, 12/11/17

U15 DCA – Weblin Shield - Mitchell Crayn 124 vs Illawarra, 29/10/17

U16 DCA – Watson Shield - Ollie Little 106 vs Fairfield/Liverpool, 29/10/17

U10 DCA - Foster Shield - Lachlan Bartlett 3/20 including hat-trick vs South Eastern, 10/12/17

U11 DCA – Creek Shield - Callum Parkinson 5/11 vs Central Coast, 26/11/17

U12 DCA – Cawsey Shield - Archie Gowthorp 6/9 vs Sutherland, 12/11/17

U14 DCA – Moore Shield - Will Shortis 5/17 vs Manly Warringah, 19/11/17

U16 DCA – Watson Shield - Ollie Little 5/18 vs Northern District, 19/11/17

U11 PC - Jack Bray 5/20 vs NWS Hurricanes, 4/2/18

U14 PC - Liam Skender 3/25 including hat-trick vs Sutherland, 10/12//17

U14 PC - Toby Laybutt 5/21 vs Central Coast, 26/11/17

U15 PC - Nathan Hukins 5/23 vs Hornsby, 26/11/17

Mementos for these awards are presented to the players at their respective Club awards presentations.


NSJCA champion Rep Players

The NSJCA champion Rep players will be formally announced separately but we would like to also take this opportunity to congratulate the following Representative players of the year:

1. Girls player of the year  - Sara Chun


2. DCA player of the year - Oliver Little 

3. President Cup player of the year - Fitz Bowman


Coaches and Managers

In closing we would like to thank you to the following coaches and managers for their long hours and hard work during the most successful Rep season ever:   


Coaches: Managers:
Andrew Ridley Kisten Thomson
Sanj Wijesinghe Leigh Brezler
Warwick Adlam Mark Rimmer
Karl Riseborough Jenny Riseborough
Hugh Sands Caroline Veitch
Antony Walsh Stephen Cleary
Ben Callanan Tony Bill
Scott Perry Richard Hunt
Richard Watson Nic Shortis
Richard Skender Brian Chertkow
Seelan Naganayagam Sandeep Joshi
David O'Kane Craig Donaldson
Brett Elliott Jason Little
Neil Maxwell Leonie Ridley
Alan Gibbons John O’Farrell




We are already in preparation for season 2018-19, where we hope to build on this successful season and continue to foster the spirit of cricket in each of our teams.



Last updated: Wednesday April 25, 2018 7:17AM